Groups insist on government accountability for Yolanda Victims

On the third anniversary of Supertyphoon Haiyan (Yolanda) Bagong Alyansang Makabayan-National Capital Region held a symbolic candle-lighting ceremony for the victims and survivors of the disaster last November 8 in Quiapo, Manila.

Bayan-NCR chairperson Raymond Palatino said the Benigno Aquino administration should still be held accountable for what they say was its inefficient and unjust response to the disaster.

Officials of the current Rodrigo Duterte government have reported that while many of the victims and survivors have still to receive material and monetary aid, only P30 million of the Yolanda rehabilitation funds remain from hundreds of billions.

The protesters are also calling for continuing rehabilitation of areas and citizens in the affected areas. Read more

RADIO TACLOBAN PODCAST: Yolanda survivors commemorate 3rd Yolanda anniversary

This podcast is part of the preparations for the eventual establishment of Radio Tacloban, a women-led disaster risk reduction community radio station project of the International Association of Women in Radio and Television-Philippine Chapter, in cooperation with Kodao Productions and Eastern Vista media groups with the assistance of the United Church of Christ in the Philippines-Eastern Visayas Ecumenical District and the National Council of Churches in the Philippines.

This podcast includes reports from volunteer broadcasters the project trains to become anchors, reporters, technicians and staff of Radio Tacloban.  Radio Tacloban aims to empower women by offering them a mass medium where they could claim for themselves the power to confront disasters and other issues.

Read more

KODAO PODCAST: #RememberHaiyan 2015 (Part 1/4)

LIVE PODCAST: #RememberHaiyan 2015
Mga pangyayaring sinubaybayan mula 6 Am – 7:30 Am
Martsa ng Magsasaka
Tacloban City, Philippines
November 6, 2015

Mga tagapagbalita:

Janeth Darantinao – Carigara
Lourdes Lacerna – Alang Alang
Rose Ann Tejones – Palo
Michael Jay Advincula – Tanauan

Yolito Tabontabon – Pinabacdao